Objects of our affection: Senti-mental?

24 Aug

House is being decorated…everywhere smells of paint which is pleasant at first but now the novelty has worn off.  The boys have bought new bedroom furniture which has resulted in less storage space (I’m not entirely sure why bedside tables costing ten times the old ones could have about a quarter of the space).

Traumatic for Mykie, not really an issue for Simon…

So, I’ve got gadgets and gizmos a-plenty. I’ve got whozits and whatzits galore…what am I going to do?  I’m not being contrary for the drama of it all, I’m just one of those people who gets attached to things and struggles to de-clutter.  The 8 ball from my old Uni flat (akin to keeping the obligatory student traffic cone/sign I know); I don’t require it to function on a daily basis, but, it reminds me off my student days.  The now tatty, plaid trousers I wore on my first date with Simon, I don’t wear them any more but the thought of discarding them fills me with sadness.  I could go on and on but suffice it to say that I have piles of things that do not serve any use and are taking up room.  I could put things in a memory box perhaps?  Been there, done that, memory boxes updated every year and filled to bursting.  I had to take the plunge and get ruthless.  Out went “The Endless” models, out went the empty Westwood and Tiffany & co. boxes, out went the tie I wore when I interviewed for my job, out went the never worn clothes picked up on holidays.

I found this extremely difficult and a little upsetting.  Simon on the other hand saw it as a great opportunity to de-clutter;  He doesn’t seem to get attached to clothes and inanimate objects as I do.  Simon’s wardrobe operates on a strict “one in, one out” policy, and not many things are above the “clutter cull” (the notable exceptions being the random trinkets, crochet, origami and other knick-knacks I give him as little gifts…nice, as I bet he’s itching to chuck them all).

Is it a negative trait to keep items for nostalgias sake?  Should memories be enough without the need for a trinket to attach them to?  Should we all learn to let go?

I find it strange how some people get attached to things.  I’ll happily chase anything if it’s woolly and moves about.

I think it’s about time Mykie got around to reading Bruce Hood’s Supersense.

4 Responses to “Objects of our affection: Senti-mental?”

  1. Docsology August 24, 2010 at 6:46 pm #

    Would a picture of an item be a reasonable substitute to help retain the memory?

    • mrmykie August 24, 2010 at 7:07 pm #

      Oh, I didn’t think of that! That may be a very efficient compromise!

  2. Hannie September 13, 2010 at 9:00 pm #

    See, I maintain that you don’t want to get rid of every random sentimental thing. A couple of months ago, I went through all the crap I’ve been keeping at Mum’s for years, and yes, most of it was crap. Train tickets, theme park entry bands, cinema stubs…I am a hoarder of gigantic proportions, dude. But then there were some things that triggered memories that had faded, and those things, I kept. You can never be expected to remember every funny/strange/sad thing that has happened, but they helped to shape you. It’s nice to keep those little reminders and look through them every now and again to remind you of where you’ve come from and how you got here. Don’t de-clutter too much, my love.

    • mrmykie September 13, 2010 at 10:04 pm #

      I am really, really considering Dr David’s suggestion of photographing stuff…I am coining the term “micro-clutter”.

Leave a Reply

